Take the Political Compass Test. Where do you stand?

A friend put me onto Bill Mitchell’s Blog. I was told, Bill is an economic genius…. Modern Monetary Theory, macroeconomic reality  …..”you’ll really like him”.

I have a distinct avoidance of economics but I know I should find out more, it’s just that anything with $ sign in front makes me go weak at the knees…… from fear!

Well, he does seem to really know his stuff and I will need to read more of it, but in small doses so I can absorb. Bill writes about other things and is a really interesting guy and for Economics buffs you probably can’t go past his site.

Direct from his ‘About’ page Bill is “a Professor in Economics and Director of the Centre of Full Employment and Equity (CofFEE), at the University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia. He is also a professional musician and plays guitar with the Melbourne Reggae-Dub band – Pressure Drop. The band was popular around the live music scene in Melbourne in the late 1970s and early 1980s. The band reformed in late 2010.

You can find music and other things on his Home Page.

I found his link to this little ‘Political Compass Test’ and here’s my results.

Yes there I sit in the bottom left hand corner. Exactly where I chose to sit in class.

My 'Political Compass' Test Outcome 19/10/2014 Economic Left/Right -9.88 Social Libertarian/Authoritarian -8.97

My ‘Political Compass’ Test Outcome 19/10/2014
Economic Left/Right -9.88
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian -8.97

There’s an analysis and you’ll also be able to compare political leaders, though the field is incomplete. It’s really interesting to see Netanyahu closer to Al-Assad than either would like to think!

I will leave you to link and play.

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for the Political Compass. No wonder that we follow one another’s blog, I’m as far left as you and only one square above you on the ‘libertarian’ scale. I guess all that means is that people living half a world apart can see things similarly (and, of course, correctly).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heartwarming really Ron, as we all need a ‘tribe’ and I am happy this blogging endeavor has found me some more of my political one. I have not received all my blogfollow e-mails lately so will need to pick up so many I have missed, yours included. Wonderful to have connected. I was thinking it would be sad if I lost readers of a different ilk as its the ‘difference’ that makes life so interesting too….. I just happen to live in a town driven by mining, military and mainstream….guess thats ‘difference’ enough but at times my voice is for deaf ears. My ‘evangelists’ all feel vindicated as they dont have enough challenges! Wonder if theres a spiritual compass somewhere to check ourselves against al-Barghouti Billy Graham and the Delai Lama?

      Like

Leave a Reply

