WORK

After more than a year without paid work I finally landed a job. I was exstatic as the rent and power wolves were barking at my door and I was certain I would have escape and get something ‘down south’.(Though colleagues down there are struggling under imposed budget cuts of neo-libs).

I must have applied for at least 10 jobs with all documents thoughtfully completed where the job advertised ended up being removed due to lack of government funding. Others had their levels reduced to get more bang for the buck, which meant for me.. I was overqualified or just too old to ‘manage’.
As a social worker with years of ‘field and management experience’ I’m sure many people felt I was skiving! “How come you cant get a job here…theres lots of work in your field!” Truth is after so long and at least watching my so called ‘career’ move oh so incrementally upward, and to be honest being worn out by struggling to ’empower’ people from the ground, I realised I could do more to change things if I worked in the social policy arena…..so thats where I hung my hat for searching for a job. After 3+ years in the NT I had had 3 policy contracts and 2 field contracts. Again you know in this line of work, when the libs are in federally and you also have a territory or state lib govt your sector cringes and vulnerable people suffer. Additionally the gap between Corporate management and ‘workers’ grows wider, not only with salaries but with power.
Enough said.
I started a blog, I started to write a book of shorts….My book is progressing beyond the ‘hump’ of halfway and I am content that the time I took (supported by superfunds) was well worth taking and turning into a personal reflective experience.
I am a new person…..

Apart from supporting extended family(s) of refugees with no means, I have managed to survive with the help of my own family and friends (thank-you).

So now I write policy papers….I have little or no freedom to move and the opportunity for creative thought or true research and analysis is zero.

I am potently aware of this but like most of the 99%ers have to pay my own way. So am grateful to have a permanent job in what is (due to my 60yrs) my last or near last paid job.

As a female my super (now gone) was only half of that of an equivalent male graduate. But anectdotaly I am also aware that the few men who took my course went straight to well paid management roles in the cities when the women went rural and to rules with little opportunity for ‘advancement’. None would complain and the work has advanced our capacity for empathy and understanding…..we are good at what we do.

After 2 weeks back working,I miss my writing for me.

My mantra….
I will not be subsumed by what I do at ‘work’.
I refuse to be de-radicalised.
I will save myself and my sanity for potent and important issues.
I will never say I am a bureacrat. (and yes I have heard this said with laughable pride!)
I will maintain my sense of humour.
I will finish my book.
I will try to post meaningful and intersting posts.
I will maintain my rage
I will……

‘Know your Enemy’- Rage Against the Machine 1992
Know your enemy!

Come on!
Yes I know my enemies
They’re the teachers who taught me to fight me
Compromise, conformity, assimilation, submission
Ignorance, hypocrisy, brutality, the elite

All of which are American dreams

4 Comments

  1. My daughter who works in social servicse too with two degrees has been struggling to get a job for well over a year now. She worked in homes of children at risk that needed 24/7 care and supervision. A very stressful job but probably an area most in need of support especially financial support. However, money was cut and more and more children are now at risk let alone an ever increasing ratio of domestic violence, drugs and alcohol abuse.

    She is now coping with our help and the odd day she still gets doing 24hr sleep-over shifts.

    Another two male friends, hugely qualified in finance, with PhD have given up looking for work and are living off their super and doing a bit of tutoring in math etc.

    Australia is in a bad way and I don’t see a way out.

    Keep going Lesley, especially with writing your delightful and political savvy pieces.
    I am glad you have job.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sad indightment of our society. I had 3 job applications in when this one paid off so rather than wait on the other two I withdrew my applications. The one that looked most rewarding, socially speaking was keading a resettlement tean in an NGO for humanitarian refugee intake , they also to some work with detention refugees. Got an e-mail last week saying they had withdrawn the position due to lack of funding. So much for our caring spirit to ‘genuine’ refugees eh? Strange thing is they want us to keep working and keep upping the retirement age, my guess? Suits the pollies cos they never get their hands dirty and bag a fat super cheque plus a diplomatic post or a seat on a board that pays megabucks.
    My hopes sit with this generation of our kids…..no chance to buy a home extotionate rents that keep fatcats owning property and huge education debts – they understand and arel are wise to the ‘machine’. Good luck to your daughter she’s hag a great teacher.

    Like

  3. We have all come a long way in the last 25 years or so; and, although most of us are in different situations, the desire to bring about change has not dimmed in those years (but we have learned how to better deal with the abundance of ‘Drones’ that surround us).
    Couldn’t be happier that you have gotten a job and are now on the rise that you deserve – keep fighting the good fight.

    Love, Light and Laughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jimmy Cliff on last night here but too soon to buy a ticket word of wisdom from him ‘the harder they come the harder they fall’. Will try to catch Michael Frante and Spearhead who will be on soon….words of wisdom from him ‘you can bomb the world to pieces, but you cant bomb it into peace’. Thanks for everything Paul.

      Like

Leave a Reply

